Altitude: 810 ft asl Inhabitants: 634 Total vineyards: 791 acres Nebbiolo vineyards: 556 acres
The name: the Romans called Barbarica Silva the oak forest that covered the biggest part of the land at the time of their conquest. Historical notes: the area was populated by ligurian-celtic tribes, subjugated by the Romans, who founded the military outpost that gave origin to the Barbaresco village. Of the original fortress, that about 1000 years ago dominated above the river Tanaro valley, only the 120 ft tower remains today. This tower is the biggest among those characterizing the Langhe landscape. The tower is the symbol of the Barbaresco village, whose history identifies with that of the homonymous wine.
Altitude: 1100 ft asl Inhabitants: 2870 Total vineyards: 2718 acres Nebbiolo vineyards: 358 acres
The name: derives from Gens Naevia, a roman aristocratic family that probably founded the first roman settlement during the 1st century BC. Historical notes:of roman origins, Neive is one of the most important centers of the Langhe territory. The village center is very charming, being divided into Ripasorita (sunny ridge), exposed to the afternoon sun and Ripafredda (cold ridge), exposed to the morning sun. The original urban structure, built around the middle-age castle is still evident. The castle was built about the year 1000 to defend the village and its inhabitants from the Saracen attacks. Some churches and aristocratic buidings are very well conserved, some of these were designed by the local architect Giovanni Antonio Borgese in a wonderful piedmontese baroque style.
Altitude: 1400 ft asl Inhabitants: 736 Total vineyards: 1112 acres Nebbiolo vineyards: 235 acres
The name: from the latin tres, indicating that the place was near the third mile-stone from Alba Pompeia. Historical notes: Treiso officially exists only from 1952, being before part of the Barbaresco village. Bound since the roman times to the town of Alba, being a favourite residential area, close to the centre but in a well ventilated and oxygeneted site, at a proper altitude to preserve from both the summer hotness and the winter humid fogs. Maybe for this reason, here are produced particularly scented Barbaresco wines, as well as one of the best Dolcetto of the whole Langhe. Very charming is the amphitheatre-shaped abyss called The Seven Brothers Rock, in the Canta locality.
SAN ROCCO SENO D'ELVIO (ALBA)
Altitude: 600 ft asl Inhabitantsi: 218 Total vineyards: 198 acres Nebbiolo vineyards: 64 acres
The name: from Saint Roch, patron of the hamlet and from the Elvio creek (sinus), flowing down the valley: Elvio was the roman emperor Publio Elvio Pertinace, who was born here and gorverned Rome for some months until 28th March 193 AD, when he was killed in a conspiracy. The Barbaresco hamlet called Pertinace bears as well the name of the roman emperor. Historical notes: part of the Barbaresco village until 1952, when Barbaresco and Treiso splitted, San Rocco was wisely joined with the Alba territory. The sub-zones continue with the homonymous ones of Treiso, having the same podologic characters.